STARTS – 1 LIFETIME

The following is a list of horses that made one lifetime start prior to the Kentucky Derby from 1937 to present.

Horse	Year	Finish
Bert G.	1945	14 th

STARTS – 2 LIFETIME

The following is a list of horses that made two lifetime starts prior to the Kentucky Derby from 1937 to present.

Horse	Year	Finish	
T O Password (JPN)	2024	5 th	
Taiba	2022	12 th	
China Visit	2000	6 th	
Disposal	1992	18 th	
Senecas Coin	1949	15 th	
Perfect Bahram	1946	9 th	

Note: Daily Racing Form's Jay Privman with the help of Keeneland Library's Becky Ryder determined through research that 1883 Derby winner Leonatus is the lone Kentucky Derby winner with just two lifetime starts.

Leonatus	1883	1 st

STARTS – 3 LIFETIME

The following is a list of horses that made three lifetime starts prior to the Kentucky Derby from $1900\ \mathrm{to}$ present.

Horse	Year	Finish	
Catalytic	2024	19 th	
Just a Touch	2024	20^{th}	
Mage	2023	1 st	
Kingsbarns	2023	14 th	
Zozos	2022	10 th	
Charge It	2022	17 th	
Helium	2021	7^{th}	
Sainthood	2021	10 th	
Rock Your World	2021	16^{th}	
Soup and Sandwich	2021	18 th	
Money Moves	2020	13 th	
Justify	2018	1 st	
Hofburg	2018	7 th	
Patch	2017	14 th	
Materiality	2015	6^{th}	
Summer Bird	2009	6^{th}	
Dunkirk	2009	11 th	
Big Brown	2008	1 st	
Curlin	2007	3 rd	
Showing Up	2006	6^{th}	
Desert Hero	1999	13 th	
Valhol	1999	15 th	
Thyer	1992	13 th	
Pendleton Ridge	1990	13 th	
Vernon Castle	1986	15 th	
Wavering Monarch	1982	12 th	
Rippey	1946	10^{th}	
Fairy Manah	1942	13 th	
Regret	1915	1 st	

STARTS – 4 LIFETIME

The following is a list of horses that made four lifetime starts prior to the Kentucky Derby from 1900 to present.

Horse	Year	Finish
Sierra Leone	2024	2^{nd}
Zandon	2022	3^{rd}
Smile Happy	2022	8 th
Crown Pride (JPN)	2022	13 th
Happy Jack	2022	14 th
Tacitus	2019	3^{rd}
Vekoma	2019	12 th
Roadster	2019	15 th
Maximum Security	2019	17^{th}
Spinoff	2019	18 th
Noble Indy	2018	17 th
Magnum Moon	2018	19 th
Battle of Midway	2017	3 rd
Girvin	2017	13 th
My Man Sam	2016	11 th
Outwork	2016	14 th
Shagaf	2016	DNF
Itsaknockout	2015	9 th
Danza	2013	3rd
Chitu	2014	9 th
	2014	14 th
Verrazano		2 nd
Bodemeister	2012	
Animal Kingdom	2011	1 st
Dialed In	2011	8 th
Midnight Interlude	2011	16 th
Denis of Cork	2008	3 rd
Tiago	2007	7 th
Flower Alley	2005	9 th
Greeley's Galaxy	2005	11 th
High Limit	2005	20 th
Tapit	2004	9 th
Medaglia d'Oro	2002	4 th
Congaree	2001	3^{rd}
Curule	2000	7^{th}
War Chant	2000	9 th
Trippi	2000	11 th
Stephen Got Even	1999	14 th
Indian Charlie	1998	3^{rd}
Sky Captain	1995	14 th
Strodes Creek	1994	2^{nd}
Corporate Report	1991	9 th
Alydavid	1991	14 th
Wheatly Hall	1986	6 th
Majestic Shore	1984	DNF
Air Forbes Won	1982	7 th
Media	1975	5 th
Sir Tristam	1974	11 th
Big Spruce	1972	7 th
Fourilla	1971	19 th
Coaltown	1948	2 nd
	1942	9 th
Hollywood		
Hollywood Exterminator	1918	1 st