## STARTS – FINAL PREP RACE

The following is a list of races from 1940 to present in which eventual Kentucky Derby winners made their final start before winning the "Run for the Roses":

Derby Winner	Year	Finish	Race
Mystik Dan	2024	3 <sup>rd</sup>	Arkansas Derby
Mage	2023	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Florida Derby
Rich Strike Mandaloun	2022 2021	3 <sup>rd</sup> 6 <sup>th</sup>	Jeff Ruby Steaks Louisiana Derby
Authentic	2020	1 <sup>st</sup>	Haskell Invitational
Country House	2019	3 <sup>rd</sup>	Arkansas Derby
Justify	2018	1 <sup>st</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Santa Anita Derby
Always Dreaming Nyquist	2017	1 <sup>st</sup>	Florida Derby Florida Derby
American Pharoah		$1^{st}$	Arkansas Derby
California Chrome		1 <sup>st</sup>	Santa Anita Derby
Orb I'll Have Another	2013 2012	1 <sup>st</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Florida Derby Santa Anita Derby
Animal Kingdom	2011	1 <sup>st</sup>	Spiral Spiral
Super Saver	2010	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Arkansas Derby
Mine That Bird	2009 2008	4 <sup>th</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Sunland Derby Florida Derby
Big Brown Street Sense	2007	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Blue Grass
Barbaro	2006	$1^{st}$	Florida Derby
Giacomo	2005	4 <sup>th</sup>	Santa Anita Derby
Smarty Jones Funny Cide	2004 2003	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Arkansas Derby Wood Memorial
War Emblem	2003	1 <sup>st</sup>	Illinois Derby
Monarchos	2001	$2^{nd}$	Wood Memorial
Fusaichi Pegasus	2000	1 <sup>st</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Wood Memorial
Charismatic Real Quiet	1999 1998	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Lexington Santa Anita Derby
Silver Charm	1997	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Santa Anita Derby
Grindstone	1996	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Arkansas Derby
Thunder Gulch	1995	4 <sup>th</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Blue Grass
Go for Gin Sea Hero	1994 1993	4 <sup>th</sup>	Wood Memorial Blue Grass
Lil E. Tee	1992	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Arkansas Derby
Strike the Gold	1991	1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass
Unbridled Sunday Silence	1990 1989	3 <sup>rd</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass Santa Anita Derby
Winning Colors	1988	1 <sup>st</sup>	Santa Anita Derby
Alysheba	1987	$3^{rd}$	Blue Grass
Ferdinand	1986	3rd	Santa Anita Derby
Spend a Buck Swale	1985 1984	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Garden State Lexington
Sunny's Halo	1983	1 <sup>st</sup>	Arkansas Derby
Gato Del Sol	1982	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Blue Grass
Pleasant Colony Genuine Risk	1981 1980	1 <sup>st</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Wood Memorial Wood Memorial
Spectacular Bid	1979	1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass
Affirmed	1978	$1^{st}$	Hollywood Derby
Seattle Slew	1977	1 <sup>st</sup>	Wood Memorial
Bold Forbes Foolish Pleasure	1976 1975	1 <sup>st</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Wood Memorial Wood Memorial
Cannonade	1974	1 <sup>st</sup>	CD allowance
Secretariat	1973	3 <sup>rd</sup>	Wood Memorial
Riva Ridge Canonero II	1972 1971	1 <sup>st</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Blue Grass Venezuela race
Dust Commander	1970	1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass
Majestic Prince	1969	$1^{st}$	CD allowance
Forward Pass	1968	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Blue Grass
Proud Clarion Kauai King	1967 1966	1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass Governor's Gold Cup
Lucky Debonair	1965	1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass
Northern Dancer	1964	1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass
Chateaugay	1963	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Blue Grass
Decidedly Carry Back	1962 1961	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Blue Grass Wood Memorial
Venetian Way	1960	2 <sup>nd</sup>	CD allowance
Tomy Lee-GB	1959	1 <sup>st</sup>	Blue Grass
Tim Tam	1958 1957	1 <sup>st</sup> 5 <sup>th</sup>	Derby Trial
Iron Liege Needles	1956	1 <sup>st</sup>	Derby Trial Florida Derby
Swaps	1955	1 <sup>st</sup>	CD allowance
Determine	1954	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Derby Trial
Dark Star Hill Gail	1953 1952	1 <sup>st</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Derby Trial Derby Trial
Count Turf	1951	5 <sup>th</sup>	Wood Memorial
Middleground	1950	2 <sup>nd</sup>	Derby Trial
Ponder Citation	1949	2 <sup>nd</sup> 1 <sup>st</sup>	Derby Trial
Citation Jet Pilot	1948 1947	1 <sup>st</sup>	Derby Trial Jamaica Handicap
			г

Derby Winner	Year	Finish	Race
Assault	1946	$4^{th}$	Derby Trial
Hoop Jr.	1945	1st	Wood Memorial
Pensive	1944	$2^{nd}$	Chesapeake
Count Fleet	1943	1st	Wood Memorial
Shut Out	1942	$1^{st}$	Blue Grass
Whirlaway	1941	$2^{nd}$	Derby Trial
Gallahadion	1940	$2^{nd}$	Derby Trial